May 11, 2017

[Tsunami Message - IOC] NWS-NTWC Tsunami Information Statement

WEXX32 PAAQ 102333
TIBATE

Tsunami Information Statement Number 1
NWS National Tsunami Warning Center Palmer AK
733 PM EDT Wed May 10 2017

..THIS IS A TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT FOR THE U.S. EAST COAST,
GULF OF MEXICO STATES, AND EASTERN CANADA...

EVALUATION
----------
* There is no tsunami danger for the U.S. east coast, the Gulf of
Mexico states, or the eastern coast of Canada.

* Earthquakes of this size are known to generate tsunamis
dangerous to shorelines near the source.

* An earthquake has occurred with parameters listed below.


PRELIMINARY EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS
---------------------------------
* The following parameters are based on a rapid preliminary
assessment and changes may occur.

* Magnitude 6.8
* Origin Time 1924 EDT May 10 2017
1824 CDT May 10 2017
1924 AST May 10 2017
2324 UTC May 10 2017
* Coordinates 56.5 South 25.9 West
* Depth 44 miles
* Location in the South Sandwich Islands region, South Atlantic Ocean


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND NEXT UPDATE
--------------------------------------
* Refer to the internet site tsunami.gov for more information.

* Caribbean coastal regions should refer to the Pacific
Tsunami Warning Center messages at tsunami.gov.

* This will be the only U.S. National Tsunami Warning Center
message issued for this event unless additional information
becomes available.

$$

Current time zone offset : UTC/GMT +3 hours: